EDPS 360 (A2) Fall 2013

Girls, School Dress-Codes and Slut-Shaming

In Uncategorized on June 8, 2014 at 7:35 am

Another good one from Laura. Having attended the Pride Parade in Edmonton yesterday, I’m thinking about parallels between one loud and proud movement and another. I think the success of pride movements speaks for itself, although one ought not to be so excessively smug as to assume that regressive counter-movements are impossible in both cases, and that some less happy medium might not yet come into being. Progress is often an obscuring force — it has the power to fool us into believing that it’s opposite is impossible, and, especially, to hide from view the progression of other forms of oppression more enduring and more difficult to tackle.

If you can work what I’m only hinting at, the veil of social progress hasn’t yet covered your eyes. Food for thought.

My So-Called Career

In America, we see Islamic women all covered up and think, “That poor woman, made to be ashamed of her body!” But is it any less oppressive to convince a woman that her uncovered body is never beautiful enough? Is covering enslavement… or freedom? I want to find out.

Tagline from Lauren Jayne’s blog “The Modesty Experiment

I was just a kid the first time someone wolf-whistled at me. And I’m not gonna lie: it was great. The thing is, I’d been picked on in school my whole childhood, and enough kids had called me “ugly” over time that by junior high, I had come to believe it to be true. So at the tender age of thirteen, already with more to fill out a bra than anything like self-esteem, I discovered in the instance of one catcall that I had sexual power. By 15, I was one…

View original post 1,088 more words

Leave a Reply

